Whole30 Day 7 (and 4, 5 and 6)

I am so excited that I made it to day 7!  This was a huge change for me and I’m happy to report that I’ve stayed on track and haven’t found it too terrible so far.

Days 4 and 5 are supposed to be “kill all the things” days and I didn’t really feel like that.  My husband may secretly disagree but he’s smart enough to say I was fine.

I was expecting to be really tired on days 6 and 7 but yesterday went fine without any real low energy slumps.  This morning, day 7, I crawled back in bed once the big kids were on the bus but that was mostly because it was cozy.  I could probably take a nap later if given the opportunity but so far I don’t think I’ll need one.

So what have I been eating?  My breakfast of choice has been 2 eggs scrambled with mushrooms and chopped spinach.  Sometimes with a side of roasted sweet potato and/or fruit.  This morning I added a little almond butter for my 1/2 of a banana.

IMG_6357    IMG_6366

On Monday I made lasagna for my husband and kids which is a definite no during my Whole30 so I made myself some butternut squash soup from a recipe posted by Damn Delicious.  I found bacon without sugar at Earth Fare and was really excited to try it.  It was alright but I wasn’t a huge fan of the roasted red pepper flavor in the soup.

Unfortunately making two complete dinners each night is pretty time consuming.  I’m sure it is something I’ll do on occasion but definitely not every night.  That means I needed to find some things that were both Whole30 compliant and would appease my kids and husband.  Tuesday night I made tacos for them and a taco salad for me.  It was delicious and probably one of the favorite things I’ve eaten since I started.

The packets of taco seasoning that I looked at all had sugar in them including the Penzey’s taco seasoning we normally use so I made my own.  I loosely followed this recipe.  I don’t usually eat tacos but I really liked the flavor of this seasoning.  My salad was simply a bed of romaine with some taco meat scooped on top, avocado slices and sliced plum tomatoes.  Then I made a delicious creamy avocado dressing blogged by Paleo Grubs.  My salad was way too big and I wished I had made it half the size and then had another one the next day.

IMG_6362

Other than that we’ve had chicken a couple times with some sort of compliant marinade and basic veggies on the side.  That makes for an easy dinner because I can add rice or bread and the rest of the family sees it as a normal meal.

I’m looking forward to finishing off my first week this evening and seeing what next week brings!

Leave a Reply

