Days 2 and 3: The Hangover

One of the pages that I really appreciate Whole30 publishing is their timeline.  It gives you a general idea of what to expect to feel as you move through your Whole30 experience.

Days 2 and 3 are labeled as “The Hangover.”  Sounds pleasant, right?  I’ve never actually had a hangover but I hear they’re unpleasant so I was pretty certain these couple days would be miserable for me.  For the week before starting I ate all the foods I wouldn’t be able to in January.  Cupcakes, cookies, macaroni and cheese, Chinese, chocolate oranges, well, you get the idea. So when I woke up the morning of day two with only a slight headache I was pleasantly surprised.  As the day wore on it would come and go but was totally bearable.  That evening though the headache changed to one that starts at the base of your neck but it was still bearable.  About 2am I woke up with a headache that engulfed my shoulders, neck and entire head.  I got up to get a drink of water and the moment I opened my eyes I had to close them and I knew I’d fallen victim to the hangover.  The morning of day 3 was rough and the headache continued throughout the day but got better after I had something to eat.  All day I noticed I was incredibly thirsty and would drink 3 glasses of water at a time without feeling like I was satisfied.

Today is day 4 and I feel a lot better already.  Got the kids up for school which was unpleasant for us all after being able to sleep in for 2 weeks.  I came home and made myself half a roasted sweet potato, scrambled eggs with spinach and mushrooms and a few strawberries.  Days 4 and 5 are supposed to be the “Kill All The Things” phase so I apologize in advance to everyone I am less than patient with.

This week I hope to start posting some links to the food I’m eating.  I know how hard it can be to come up with ideas and if I ever decide to do this again it would be nice to have a meal plan already created.

Leave a Reply

